clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Trio of Padres named finalists for BBWAA Awards

Rightfully deserved.

MLB: NLDS-San Diego Padres at Los Angeles Dodgers Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

On Monday afternoon, the Baseball Writer’s Association of America announced the three finalists for each of their their four major awards for both the National and American League. The awards include the Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year, Manager of the Year, the Cy Young Award, and MVP.

One of the first sets of finalists unveiled on the evening were the NL Rookies of the Year and, unsurprisingly, Jake Cronenworth made the cut alongside Alec Boehm of the Phillies and Devin Williams of the Brewers.

The winner will be announced one week from Monday on November 9.

The second member of the Padres organization to earn a top-three nomination is skipper Jayce Tingler, who joins Don Mattingly of the Marlins and David Ross of the Cubs as finalists for NL Manager of the Year.

Tingler helped lead the Friars to a 37-23 regular season record and the franchise’s first playoff appearance in over 14 years. The team rallied from a 0-1 hole in the NLWCS against the St. Louis Cardinals before falling to the eventual World Series Champion Dodgers.

The winner will be announced a week from tomorrow on November 10.

Lastly, the third and final Padre to make the finals for an award is Manny Machado, who joins Mooke Betts of the Dodgers and Freddie Freeman of the Braves who are all up for NL MVP.

Machado finished the 2020 season slashing .304/.370/.580 with 16 home runs and an OPS of .950. It looks like, once again, Fernando Tatis’ September really came back to bite him in the end when it came to postseason accolades.

The winner will be announced a week from this Thursday ion November 12.