clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WBC 2017: Schedule, game times, and TV coverage

World Baseball Classic - Second Round - Miami - Italy vs Dominican Republic Photo by Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images

This morning while most of San Diego was still asleep, the 2017 World Baseball Classic got underway in Seoul, South Korea. The first and only matchup of the day was between Israel and Korea, with the former winning 2-1 in a ten-inning contest.

Tomorrow the action continues in Seoul for Pool A (Israel, Korea, Netherlands, Taiwan). Meanwhile, Pool B (Australia, China, Cuba, and Japan) will spring into action in Tokyo, Japan. On Thursday, March 9th, Pools C (United States, Canada, Colombia, Dominican Republic) and D (Italy, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Venezuela) will start their play in Miami, Florida and Jalisco, Mexico, respectively.

The first round of the classic is being played round-robin style, and the top two teams from each pool will advance to round 2, in Tokyo and right here in San Diego from March 12th to the 16th. Then the finals will be played at Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles from March 20th to the 22nd.

All WBC games will be broadcast on MLB Network (on TV and online) in English and ESPN Deportes / Watch ESPN app in Spanish.

Full Tournament Schedule

All times PT

">" denotes a Padres player represented in the game

Monday, March 6

4:30 am.. Israel vs. Korea

7:00 p.m. - Israel vs. Chinese Taipei

Tuesday, March 7

1:30 a.m. - Korea vs. Netherlands*

2:00 a.m. - Cuba vs. Japan

7:00 p.m. - China vs. Cuba

*tape-delayed on MLB Network (5:00 a.m.)

Wednesday, March 8

1:30 a.m. - Chinese Taipei vs. Netherlands*

2:00 a.m. - Japan vs. Australia

7:00 p.m. - Netherlands vs. Israel

*tape-delayed on MLB Network (8 a.m.)

Thursday, March 9

1:30 a.m. - Korea vs. Chinese Taipei*

2:00 a.m. - Australia vs. China

>3:00 p.m. - Canada vs. Dominican Republic

6:00 p.m. - Mexico vs. Italy

7:00 p.m. - Australia vs. Cuba**

*tape-delayed on MLB Network (8 a.m.)

**tape-delayed on MLB Network (12 a.m.)

Friday, March 10

1:00 a.m. - Pool A tiebreaker game (if necessary)

2:00 a.m. - China vs. Japan

3:00 p.m. - Colombia vs. United States

>6:00 p.m. - Venezuela vs. Puerto Rico

Saturday, March 11

2:00 a.m. - Pool B tiebreaker game (if necessary)

9:00 a.m. - Colombia vs. Canada

>12:00 p.m. - Venezuela vs. Italy

3:30 p.m. - United States vs. Dominican Republic

6:30 p.m. - Puerto Rico vs. Mexico

7:00 p.m. - Pool A winner vs. Pool B runner-up*

*tape-delayed on MLB Network (12:30 a.m.)

Sunday, March 12

3:00 a.m. - Pool B winner vs. Pool A runner-up

9:30 a.m. - Dominican Republic vs. Colombia

12:30 p.m. - Italy vs. Puerto Rico

>4:00 p.m. - Canada vs. United States

>7:00 p.m. - Mexico vs. Venezuela

Monday, March 13

3:00 a.m. - Pool A runner-up vs. Pool A winner

3:00 p.m. - Pool C tiebreaker game (if necessary)

6:00 p.m. - Pool D tiebreaker game (if necessary)

Tuesday, March 14

3:00 a.m. - Pool B runner-up vs. Pool B winner

6:00 p.m. - Pool C winner vs. Pool D winner

8:00 p.m. - Pool A runner-up vs. Pool B runner-up

Wednesday, March 15

3:00 a.m. - Pool A winner vs. Pool B winner

6:00 p.m. - Pool D runner-up vs. Pool C runner-up

Thursday, March 16

3:00 a.m. - Pool E tiebreaker game (if necessary)

7:00 p.m. - Pool D runner-up vs. Pool C winner

Friday, March 17

7:00 p.m. - Pool C runner-up vs. Pool D winner

Saturday, March 18

12:30 p.m. - Pool D winner vs. Pool D runner-up

7:00 p.m. - Pool C runner-up vs. Pool C winner

Sunday, March 19

3:00 p.m. - Pool F tiebreaker game (if necessary)

Monday, March 20

6:00 p.m. - Semifinal: Pool F winner vs. Pool E runner up

Tuesday, March 21

6:00 p.m. - Semifinal: Pool F runner-up vs. Pool E winner

Wednesday, March 22

6:00 p.m. - Championship Game