clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 All-Star Game: Home Run Derby open thread

Wil Myers will try to take home the crown in the 2016 Home Run Derby.

New York Yankees v San Diego Padres Photo by Denis Poroy/Getty Images

It’s already been quite an exciting few days of All-Star happenings here in San Diego. Tonight the festivities continue with the Home Run Derby, presented by T-Mobile.

Padres All-Star and recently-announced ASG starter, Wil Myers, will compete in tonight’s derby and represent the host city, like Gary Sheffield and Fred McGriff before him back in 1992. This will be the first time a Friar will take part in the competition since Adrian Gonzalez during the 2009 All-Star Break in St. Louis.

Myers has had some good success with the long ball in San Diego this season, and he’s been especially on fire in the recent weeks leading up to this All-Star Break. Of his 19 home runs in 2016, 13 happened at Petco Park. Also, 11 of those 19 homers came in the month of June - a franchise record.

This year’s HR Derby will work as a bracket-style competition, with players seeded one through eight based on their home run totals up to last Wednesday, July 6th. The 6-seed Myers will face off against 3-seed Adam Duvall. If he wins, he will go on to the semifinals to go head-to-head with either Todd Frazier or Carlos Gonzalez. From there the winner will go on to the finals and battle it out against Mark Trumbo, Corey Seager, Robinson Cano, or Giancarlo Stanton.

Here’s the full bracket:

And here are the rules, broken down by Padres beat writer AJ Cassavell:

• Single-elimination tournament in which the winner of each matchup advances and the loser of each matchup is eliminated.

• If the second batter hits more home runs than the first batter in any matchup, he will be declared the winner and not attempt to hit additional home runs.

• Four minutes per batter for each round. Clock starts with the release of the first pitch. In the first round and semifinals, each batter is entitled to one 45-second "time out." In the finals, each batter is entitled to two 45-second "time-outs."

• Thirty seconds of bonus time will be awarded for two home runs that each equal or exceed 440 feet.

• Ties in any round will be broken by a 60-second swing-off with no stoppage of time or additional time added. If a tie remains after the swing-off, batters will engage in successive three-swing swing-offs until there is a winner.

As you may or may not know, each HR Derby participant is allowed to choose his own pitcher for the competition. For tonight, Myers chose his younger brother, Beau, to be his pitcher. According to Cassavell, Beau arrived in Los Angeles and met up with Wil for batting practice on Thursday at Dodger Stadium, where the Padres were preparing for their series against the Dodgers.

Coverage of the Derby will start at 5:00 pm PT on ESPN. You can also watch online on or Watch ESPN. Chris Berman, Aaron Boone, and Jessica Mendoza will be on the call.