clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

The Infield Fly That Really Wasn't

New, comments

So a weird thing happened at the Pads/Phillies game...

There's where I lost the ball, Fernando.
There's where I lost the ball, Fernando.
Eric Hartline-USA TODAY Sports

If you were watching today's Pads game, you caught this bit of weirdness. Here's the premise: Darin Ruf popped a Brad Hand offering up into the air, prompting a call for the infield fly rule. Basically, the infield fly rule calls a batter out if they hit a pop fly into the infield which is capable of being caught by an infielder with ordinary effort, whether they catch it or not.

The confusion stems as you see it: a supposed infield fly carried well into the outfield, where Wil Myers completely lost the ball and Alexei Ramirez could not catch the ball as it fell. Regardless, Ruf was called out on the rule and Ramirez gamely threw the ball to Alexi Amarista at third, who smartly touched the bag and applied a physical tag to Odubel Herrera for the double play. Prior to the double play tag, Cesar Hernandez tagged up on third at the play and ran the 90 feet towards home, tying up the game 3-3.

Confusing? It sure is.