clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 Home Run Derby Open Thread

Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

Our Padres have two All Star representatives this year - both pitchers. It's been an awful season offensively for San Diego, and even in the better offensive years home runs aren't exactly very plentiful in our pitcher-friendly Petco Park.

The last time the Friars sent someone to the Home Run Derby was in 2009 when Adrian Gonzalez was our All Star. He hit two home runs and failed to make it out of the first round.

Other than Adrian, San Diego has only had three other representatives participate in the Home Run Derby. First was Steve Garvey in 1985, the inaugural Home Run Derby. He hit two homers for the National League. Gary Sheffield and Fred McGriff  participated in 1992, when San Diego hosted its one and only All Star Game at Jack Murphy Stadium. McGriff collected three homers while Sheffield tied for 3rd place with four long balls.

Tonight the National League is represented by Todd Frazier, Giancarlo Stanton, and NL Westers Troy Tulowitzki, Justin Morneau, and Yasiel Puig.