Tucson Padres

Tucson Triple-A Baseball Team Reveals Name

Tucson, AZ - The Pacific Coast League’s newest team and top minor league club of the San Diego Padres, has announced that the official name of the Triple-A team will be the Tucson Padres.

The Tucson Padres are one of five teams in Triple-A baseball that uses the name of their major league affiliate – Scranton/Wilkes-Barre Yankees, Pawtucket Red Sox, Gwinnett Braves, and Iowa Cubs. The Double-A level has four teams with their affiliate’s name – Reading Phillies, Binghamton Mets, Mississippi Braves, and the Springfield Cardinals.

The team logo and website are currently in the approval process with Minor League Baseball (MiLB). They should be unveiled in the next 7 – 10 days. The team has a Facebook page – Tucson Padres.

Mike Feder, Tucson Padres VP & General Manager, said “We felt it was important to stay with the name of our major league affiliate to reiterate the return of organized professional baseball to Tucson. The word Padres is also synonymous with Tucson’s long history of having some of the oldest missions in the United States, specifically the San Xavier Mission.”

“Thousands of Tucson residents have also had a very positive and enjoyable connection with San Diego specifically in the summer months. Our name will reinforce that connection” said Feder.

This FanPost was written by a member of the Gaslamp Ball community and does not necessarily reflect the views of the Gaslamp Ball staff or SB Nation.