clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Padres Hall of Famers

Here's the list of guys in the Padres Hall of Fame:

The San Diego Padres Hall of Fame honors players, coaches and executives who have contributed to the organization's growth and success since San Diego broke into the major leagues in 1969. Voting among a 24-member committee is based on the rules necessary to be elected in the National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, N.Y. Eventually, the San Diego Padres Hall of Fame will be housed at San Diego's new ballpark.

  • Buzzie Bavasi
  • Nate Colbert
  • Jerry Coleman
  • Tony Gwynn
  • Randy Jones
  • Ray Kroc
  • Dave Winfield
  • Dick Williams [announced 4/26/09]

The Padres obviously haven't updated this web page in awhile because it talks about the ballpark like it hasn't been built and it mentions that Tony Gwynn will get elected later in the year.  Also it says they use the same rules as the National HoF but they don't wait the 5 years after leaving the game.  Maybe that's not a hard and fast rule.

I bring this up because, Darren Smith and Randy Jones were wondering who was in the Padres Hall of Fame.  I wasn't really sure either, so I looked it up.

Darren was naming Padres asking Randy if they should be in the Padres HOF.  Here's what he said:

  • Ken Caminiti - Yes
  • Tim Flannery - Yes
  • Ryan Klesko - No
  • Phil Nevin - Yes
  • Steve Finley - No
  • Steve Garvey - No
  • Goose Gossage - No
  • Dick Williams - Yes

I would think you'd need Bruce Bochy, Ted Leitner and Trevor Hoffman in Hall for sure.  Who else?