Midwest League Championship Update

The Padres Low A Affiliate, the Fort Wayne TinCaps, are playing for the championship of the Midwest League. Some of you may recall theywon the Championship back in 2009. Well, not only are they playing in the championship, but they are already 2 games in and are all tied up in the series at 1 game a piece. They clinched the playoffs a couple of weeks ago with a wild card spot due to their second half record. Since then, they defeated the first half champion Lansing Lugnuts (Blue Jays) in a best of three series and the Lake County Captains (Dodgers) in another best of three. The Championship series is a best of five with the Wisconsin Timber Rattlers (Brewers).

Tin Caps Players worth noting:

  • Austin Hedges, C - Padres' 14th best prospect by Minorleagueball.com, 2011 2nd round pick, MWL All Star.
  • Jace Peterson, SS - Padres' 19th best prospect by Minorleagueball.com, 2011 1st round pick, MWL All Star.
  • Yeison Asencio, OF - Formerly known as Yoan Alcantera, led the MWL with .323 batting average.
  • Jeremy Baltz, OF - 2012 2nd round pick.
  • Travis Jankowski, OF - 2012 1st round pick, 17 steals in 59 games.
  • Johnny Barbato, P - 2010 6th round pick, converted to relief this season, 1.84 ERA, 84 Ks in 73.1 IP.
  • Frank Garces, P - 9-6, 2.81 ERA in 25 starts, 112 Ks in 121.2 IP, MWL All Star.
  • James Needy, P - 2011 6th round pick from Santana HS in Santee, 1.75 ERA in 28 relief appearances and 4 starts, also pitched for San Antonio and Tucson as reliever this season.
  • Joe Ross, P - Padres' 11th best prospect by Minorleagueball.com, 2011 1st round pick.
  • Matt Stites, P - 0.74 ERA in 42 relief appearances, 13 saves, 60 Ks in 48.2 IP.

While those are some of the top prospects to note, there are others that have contributed to this playoff run. Colin Rea started game 2 and pitched 7 shutout innings for second win of the playoffs. First baseman Lee Orr led the team with 11 HRs in the regular season and has 4 in the postseason. You can check out the entire roster here, their 2012 here, the game 1 (loss) championship box score here and the game 2 (win) championship box score here.

Game 3 will be played Saturday, September 15 at 4:05 PT and the series will move to Fort Wayne after being in Grand Chute for the first 2 games.

Latest News

In This Article

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Gaslamp Ball

You must be a member of Gaslamp Ball to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Gaslamp Ball. You should read them.

Join Gaslamp Ball

You must be a member of Gaslamp Ball to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Gaslamp Ball. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.